Researchers and Staff Directory at PHSU

orange_line

1. Alvarado, Luisa, MD, FAPP
lalvarado@psm.edu
Professor Pediatrics
Infectious Disease Division, PRI

  • Pediatric infectious diseases
  • Enhanced Surveillance of Febrile Pathogens

2. Appleyard, Caroline B., PhD
cappleyard@psm.edu
See profile!

Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Physiology), and Department of Internal Medicine

Cancer Biology Division, Ponce Research Institute

  • The pathophysiology of inflammation within the gastrointestinal tract
  • The transition of chronic inflammation to dysplasia and cancer
  • The role of stress in colitis and endometriosis
  • Gut microflora in gastrointestinal diseases

3. Armaiz-Peña, Guillermo, Ph.D.
garmaiz@psm.edu
See Profile!

Assistant Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Pharmacology)
Cancer Biology Division (PRI)

  • Women’s Cancer
  • Role of emotional and behavioral disorders in cancer progression
  • Role of the immune system on the tumor microenvironment
  • Pre-clinical cancer therapeutics

4. Barranco Elizabeth, MD
ebarranco@psm.edu
crc@psm.edu
See Profile!

Associate Professor, Internal Medicine
CAIMED Clinical Research Division, Medical Director

5. Bredy Domínguez, Rafael, MD, MBE, MScCR
rbredy@psm.edu
Associate Professor, Psychiatry
• Psychogenetics
• Obesity

Assistant Professor, Public Health/Internal Medicine
• Clinical research
• Research Methodology
• Bioethics

6. Cappas Ortiz, Nydia M., PsyD
ncappas@psm.edu
See Profile!

Assistant Professor, School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences
Mental Health Division, PRI
• Primary care Psychology
• Health Psychology interventions for people living with HIV/AIDS

7. Carlo, Simón, MD
simoncarlo3@yahoo.com
See Profile!

Assistant Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Biochemistry), Departments of Pediatrics, and Psychiatry
• Genetics
• Ethics in Research
• Autism
• Metabolic disorders
• Behavioral disorders

8. Casbas, Patricia, Ph.D
pcasbas@psm.edu
See Profile!

Assistant Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Biochemistry)
Cancer Biology Division, PRI
• Breast Cancer:
-Genomic subtypes
-Breast cancer microenvironments
-Modifiable behaviors for breast cancer prevention
• Lactation

9. Castaing, Pedro, MD
pcastaing@psm.edu
pa_castaing@yahoo.com

Associate Professor, Psychiatry
• Psychogenetics
• Obesity

10. Castro, Eida, PsyD
eida36@yahoo.com
See Profile!

Assistant Professor, School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences and Department of Psychiatry
Mental Health Division, PRI
Community Outreach Division
• Outreach/Community research
• HIV and felt stigma
• Intervention models for cancer patients

11. Dutil, Julie, PhD
jdutil@psm.edu
See Profile!

Associate Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Biochemistry)
Cancer Biology Division, PRI
• Breast cancer genetics and genomics
• Population genetics

12. Fontanez, Darah, PhD
dfontanez@psm.edu
See Profile!

Assistant Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Anatomy and Neuroscience)

13. Flores, Idhaliz, PhD
iflores@psm.edu
See Profile!

Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Microbiology) and Department of Ob-Gyn
Cancer Biology Division, PRI
• Cancer Biology Division
• Endometriosis and pelvic pain
• Infertility
• Women’s health
• Ovarian cancer
• Biobanking

14. Hernández, Wilfredo, PhD
whernández@psm.edu
See Profile!

Associate Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Biochemistry)
Cancer Biology Division, PRI
• The chemoprevention of mutagenesis with antioxidants

15. Hill, Martin D., PhD
mhill@psm.edu

Associate Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Pharmacology)
Infectious Disease Division, PRI
• HIV evolution and the pharmacology of anti-HIV drugs
• The pharmacological sanctuaries of HIV

16. Isidro, Angel A., MD
asidro@psm.edu

Associate Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Physiology, Pharmacology), and Pathology
• The gastrointestinal pathology of inflammatory bowel disease
• Cardiovascular disease and endocrine pathology
• Pulmonary disease

17. Jimenez, Julio, MD
jcjimenez@psm.edu
jujich2011@gmail.com
See Profile!

Professor, School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences and Department of Psychiatry
Community Outreach Division, PRI
Mental Health Division, PRI
• HIV and felt stigma
• Intervention models for cancer patients
• Health psychology

18. Lugo, Fabio, MD
fabiohlugo@yahoo.com

Associate Professor, Psychiatry
• Fibromyalgia
• Dementia

19. Matta, Jaime L., PhD
jmatta@psm.edu
See Profile!

Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Pharmacology)
Cancer Biology Division
• DNA repair capacity in breast and skin cancer
• DNA repair genes associated with breast and skin cancer
• The epigenetic and nutritional factors in the regulation of DNA repair capacity

20. Monteiro, Janice, PhD
jmonteiro@psm.edu
janice.deterre@yahoo.com
Assistant Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Biochemistry)
Cancer Biology Division, PRI
• The ovarian endometriosis histone code

21. Morales, Diana, PhD
dmorales@psm.edu
See Profile!
Assistant Professor, School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences
CAIMED Clinical Research Division, Associate Scientific Director

22. Mueller, Devin, PhD
dmueller@psm.edu
See Profile!

Associate Professor, Basic Sciences
Neuroscience Division, PRI
• Addictive Processes
• Extinction of addictive memories
• Gender differences in addictive processes

23. Noel, Richard J., Jr., PhD
rnoel@psm.edu
See Profile!
Professor and Director Basic Sciences
Infectious Diseases Division, PRI
Neuroscience Division, PRI
• HIV/AIDS
• Neuropathology

24. Orengo, Juan C.
jorengo@psm.edu
See Profile!

Professor, Public Health
Epidemiology Division, PRI
Infectious Disease Division, PRI

25. Porter, James T., PhD
jporter@psm.edu
See Profile!
Associate Professor, Departments of Basic Sciences (Neuroscience and Pharmacology), and Psychiatry
Neuroscience Division, PRI
• Fear extinction

26. Rivera-Amill, Vanessa, PhD
vrivera@psm.edu
See Profile!

Associate Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Microbiology)
Infectious Diseases Division, PRI
• HIV/AIDS and drugs of abuse
• HIV immunology
• The molecular mechanisms of HIV pathogenesis

27. Rodriguez, Mary, PsyD
marodriguez@psm.edu
See Profile!

Associate Professor, School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences
Mental Health Division, PRI
• Obesity

28. Rosario-Hernández, Ernesto, PhD
erosario@psm.edu
See Profile!

Associate Professor, School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences
Mental Health Division, PRI
• Occupational stress
• Counterproductive work behaviors
• Workplace bullying
• Psychological well-being at work

29. Roubert, Mayra, PhD
mroubert@psm.edu
Associate Professor, Public Health
Public Health Division, PRI
• Environmental health
• Laboratory equipment/technology

30. Ruiz Ortiz, Lynnette, PhD
lruiz@psm.edu
Assistant Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Anatomy)
Cancer Biology Division, PRI
• Endometriosis

38. Torres-Ruiz, José, PhD
jtorres@psm.edu
Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Biochemistry)
Vice President of Academic Affairs
Cancer Biology Division, PRI

39. Yamamura, Yasuhiro, PhD
yyamamura@psm.edu
See Profile!

Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Microbiology)
Director, AIDS Research Program
Director, WHO HIVResNet-accredited HIV Drug Resistance Laboratory
Infectious Diseases Division, PRI
• The virology and immunology of AIDS
• The molecular epidemiology of HIV
• Inflammation and mental disorders
• The human microbiome and chronic disease
• The molecular diagnoses of infectious diseases and genetic disorders

31. Saavedra, Harold I., PhD
hsaavedra@psm.edu

Associate Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Pharmacology)
Cancer Biology Division, PRI

• The Rb/E2F pathway and chromosome instability.
• Developing mouse models of breast tumors.
• Centrosome amplification and chromosome instability in breast cancer. Chromosome instability and therapy resistance.

32. Sabate, Nuria, MD
nsabate@psm.edu

Associate Professor, Psychiatry
Mental Health Division, PRI
• Child anxiety and trauma

33. Santiago Cardona, Pedro, PhD
psantiago@psm.edu
See Profile!

Associate Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Biochemistry)
Cancer Biology Division, PRI
• Molecular cancer biology, tumor suppressors, and oncogenes
• Lung cancer genetics in Puerto Ricans

34. Santiago Cornier, Alberto, PhD, MD
scornier@psm.edu
See Profile!
Associate Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Biochemistry)
• Genetic malformations

35. Soto, Brenda
bsoto@psm.edu
See Profile!

Assistant Professor, Public Health
Community Outreach Division, PRI

36. Thompson Garcia, Kenira, PhD
kthompson@psm.edu
See Profile!

Associate Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Neuroscience), Department of Psychiatry, and School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences
Dean of Research & President of Ponce Research Institute
Neuroscience Division, PRI
• Neuroscience/Learning and memory
• Radiation-induced brain damage