fbpx

STAFF

1. Alvarado, Luisa, MD, FAPP Professor Pediatrics Infectious Disease Division, PRI

  • Pediatric infectious diseases
  • Enhanced Surveillance of Febrile Pathogens
lalvarado@psm.edu
2. Appleyard, Caroline B., PhD

Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Physiology), and Department of Internal Medicine Cancer Biology Division, Ponce Research Institute

  • The pathophysiology of inflammation within the gastrointestinal tract
  • The transition of chronic inflammation to dysplasia and cancer
  • The role of stress in colitis and endometriosis
  • Gut microflora in gastrointestinal diseases
cappleyard@psm.edu See profile!
3. Armaiz-Peña, Guillermo, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Pharmacology) Cancer Biology Division (PRI)

  • Women’s Cancer
  • Role of emotional and behavioral disorders in cancer progression
  • Role of the immune system on the tumor microenvironment
  • Pre-clinical cancer therapeutics
garmaiz@psm.edu See Profile!

4. Barranco Elizabeth, MD

Associate Professor, Internal Medicine
CAIMED Clinical Research Division, Medical Director
ebarranco@psm.edu
crc@psm.edu
 See Profile!
5. Bredy Domínguez, Rafael, MD, MBE, MScCR

Associate Professor, Psychiatry
• Psychogenetics
• Obesity

Assistant Professor, Public Health/Internal Medicine
• Clinical research
• Research Methodology
• Bioethics

rbredy@psm.edu
6. Cappas Ortiz, Nydia M., PsyD  Assistant Professor, School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences
Mental Health Division, PRI
• Primary care Psychology
• Health Psychology interventions for people living with HIV/AIDS
ncappas@psm.edu See Profile!

7. Carlo, Simón, MD

 Assistant Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Biochemistry), Departments of Pediatrics, and Psychiatry
• Genetics
• Ethics in Research
• Autism
• Metabolic disorders
• Behavioral disorders
simoncarlo3@yahoo.com See Profile!

8. Casbas, Patricia, Ph.D

 Assistant Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Biochemistry)
Cancer Biology Division, PRI
• Breast Cancer:
-Genomic subtypes
-Breast cancer microenvironments
-Modifiable behaviors for breast cancer prevention
• Lactation
pcasbas@psm.edu See Profile!
9. Castaing, Pedro, MD  Associate Professor, Psychiatry
• Psychogenetics
• Obesity
pcastaing@psm.edu
pa_castaing@yahoo.com
10. Castro, Eida, PsyD  Assistant Professor, School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences and Department of Psychiatry
Mental Health Division, PRI
Community Outreach Division
• Outreach/Community research
• HIV and felt stigma
• Intervention models for cancer patients
eida36@yahoo.com See Profile!

11. Dutil, Julie, PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Biochemistry)
Cancer Biology Division, PRI
• Breast cancer genetics and genomics
• Population genetics
jdutil@psm.edu See Profile!

12. Fontanez, Darah, PhD

 Assistant Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Anatomy and Neuroscience) dfontanez@psm.edu  See Profile!

13. Flores, Idhaliz, PhD

Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Microbiology) and Department of Ob-Gyn
Cancer Biology Division, PRI
• Cancer Biology Division
• Endometriosis and pelvic pain
• Infertility
• Women’s health
• Ovarian cancer
• Biobanking
 iflores@psm.edu See Profile!

14. Hernández, Wilfredo, PhD

 Associate Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Biochemistry)
Cancer Biology Division, PRI
• The chemoprevention of mutagenesis with antioxidants
whernández@psm.edu See Profile!

15. Hill, Martin D., PhD

 Associate Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Pharmacology)
Infectious Disease Division, PRI
• HIV evolution and the pharmacology of anti-HIV drugs
• The pharmacological sanctuaries of HIV
mhill@psm.edu

16. Isidro, Angel A., MD

Associate Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Physiology, Pharmacology), and Pathology
• The gastrointestinal pathology of inflammatory bowel disease
• Cardiovascular disease and endocrine pathology
• Pulmonary disease
 asidro@psm.edu

17. Jimenez, Julio, MD

Professor, School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences and Department of Psychiatry Community Outreach Division, PRIMental Health Division, PRI
• HIV and felt stigma
• Intervention models for cancer patients
• Health psychology
jcjimenez@psm.edu
jujich2011@gmail.com
 See Profile!

18. Lugo, Fabio, MD

 Associate Professor, Psychiatry
• Fibromyalgia
• Dementia
 fabiohlugo@yahoo.com

19. Matta, Jaime L., PhD

 Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Pharmacology)
Cancer Biology Division
• DNA repair capacity in breast and skin cancer
• DNA repair genes associated with breast and skin cancer
• The epigenetic and nutritional factors in the regulation of DNA repair capacity
jmatta@psm.edu See Profile!
20. Monteiro, Janice, PhD Assistant Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Biochemistry)
Cancer Biology Division, PRI
• The ovarian endometriosis histone code
jmonteiro@psm.edu
janice.deterre@yahoo.com
21. Morales, Diana, PhD  Assistant Professor, School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences
CAIMED Clinical Research Division, Associate Scientific Director
 dmorales@psm.edu See Profile!

22. Mueller, Devin, PhD

Associate Professor, Basic Sciences
Neuroscience Division, PRI
• Addictive Processes
• Extinction of addictive memories
• Gender differences in addictive processes
dmueller@psm.edu See Profile!

23. Noel, Richard J., Jr., PhD

 Professor and Director Basic Sciences
Infectious Diseases Division, PRI
Neuroscience Division, PRI
• HIV/AIDS
• Neuropathology
 rnoel@psm.edu See Profile!

24. Orengo, Juan C.

 Professor, Public Health
Epidemiology Division, PRI
Infectious Disease Division, PRI
 jorengo@psm.edu See Profile!
25. Porter, James T., PhD  Associate Professor, Departments of Basic Sciences (Neuroscience and Pharmacology), and Psychiatry
Neuroscience Division, PRI
• Fear extinction
jporter@psm.edu  See Profile!

26. Rivera-Amill, Vanessa, PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Microbiology)
Infectious Diseases Division, PRI
• HIV/AIDS and drugs of abuse
• HIV immunology
• The molecular mechanisms of HIV pathogenesis
 vrivera@psm.edu See Profile!

27. Rodriguez, Mary, PsyD

 Associate Professor, School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences
Mental Health Division, PRI
• Obesity
marodriguez@psm.edu See Profile!

28. Rosario-Hernández, Ernesto,PhD

 Associate Professor, School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences
Mental Health Division, PRI
• Occupational stress
• Counterproductive work behaviors
• Workplace bullying
• Psychological well-being at work
erosario@psm.edu See Profile!
29. Roubert, Mayra, PhD Associate Professor, Public Health
Public Health Division, PRI
• Environmental health
• Laboratory equipment/technology
mroubert@psm.edu
30. Ruiz Ortiz, Lynnette, PhD  Assistant Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Anatomy)
Cancer Biology Division, PRI
• Endometriosis
lruiz@psm.edu

31. Saavedra, Harold I., PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Pharmacology)Cancer Biology Division, PRI

• The Rb/E2F pathway and chromosome instability.
• Developing mouse models of breast tumors.
• Centrosome amplification and chromosome instability in breast cancer. Chromosome instability and therapy resistance.

 hsaavedra@psm.edu

32. Sabate, Nuria, MD

Associate Professor, Psychiatry
Mental Health Division, PRI
• Child anxiety and trauma
nsabate@psm.edu

33. Santiago Cardona, Pedro, PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Biochemistry)
Cancer Biology Division, PRI
• Molecular cancer biology, tumor suppressors, and oncogenes
• Lung cancer genetics in Puerto Ricans
psantiago@psm.edu  See Profile!
34. Santiago Cornier, Alberto, PhD, MD Associate Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Biochemistry)
• Genetic malformations
scornier@psm.edu See Profile!

35. Soto, Brenda

Assistant Professor, Public Health
Community Outreach Division, PRI
 bsoto@psm.edu See Profile!

36. Thompson Garcia, Kenira, PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Neuroscience), Department of Psychiatry, and School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences
Dean of Research & President of Ponce Research Institute
Neuroscience Division, PRI
• Neuroscience/Learning and memory
• Radiation-induced brain damage
kthompson@psm.edu See Profile!
37. Torres-Ruiz, José, PhD Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Biochemistry)
Vice President of Academic Affairs
Cancer Biology Division, PRI
jtorres@psm.edu

38. Yamamura, Yasuhiro, PhD

Professor, Department of Basic Sciences (Microbiology)
Director, AIDS Research Program
Director, WHO HIVResNet-accredited HIV Drug Resistance Laboratory
Infectious Diseases Division, PRI
• The virology and immunology of AIDS
• The molecular epidemiology of HIV
• Inflammation and mental disorders
• The human microbiome and chronic disease
• The molecular diagnoses of infectious diseases and genetic disorders
yyamamura@psm.edu See Profile!

Start typing and press Enter to search

Report Your Situation​

Let us know how you feel, if you have travel or been exposed with people with symptoms.

    Select Program

    Academic Year #



    Thank you for inquiring into
     Ponce Health Sciences University 
    for your education

    We are working on providing you with an improved and updated application experience. You will soon receive information about the launch of our new application portal for the 2023-24 academic year

    For MD Secondary Application click HERE